Indirect notching?

Manufacture of stone tools, knives and arrowheads by lithic reduction

Indirect notching?

Stacyharmon
Stacyharmon

May 27th, 2018, 1:40 pm #1

I have been attempting to use a flatened steel nail with a small notch filed in to set on the platform. My only issue is I keep blowing off a ear. I use a hand held copper tool hammered out to a flat screwdriver shape to start the notches about 3/16 deep then switch to the punch. I thought maybe I was setting it to high on the platform. I was also wondering if I could angle the top of the punch slightly outward towards the ear to guide the flake towards the stem slightly. Kind of how you can direct the energy of your billet when percussion flaking.
If anyone can direct me to a good tutorial or share any insight on how they do it would be greatly appreciated.

Stacy

nogie1717
nogie1717

May 27th, 2018, 1:48 pm #2

I am no expert on punch notching, but can tell you about failures!

Most commonly, I blow off the ears due to support. As long as I keep the ear totally off of the leather, I’m okay. The second reason is that my punch is too wide for the notch. And it doesn’t take much. The force with which the punch transfers means that a tiny piece of the ear catching that force will tip off the ear. Gently abrading the inside of the notches with a flake will help in some instances prevent the punch from ripping off flakes, but obviously a guy should keep the notch wider than the punch and avoid angles that cause the punch to touch an ear.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Stacyharmon
Stacyharmon

May 27th, 2018, 2:14 pm #3

nogie1717 wrote: I am no expert on punch notching, but can tell you about failures!