Rv-House "updating contact nodes"

All the Sites, Links & Utilities you need to race Re-Volt Online.

Moderator: VaiDuX461

Rv-House "updating contact nodes"

Touriga
Regular
Touriga
Regular
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 07:07 PM

10 Jul 2017, 10:05 AM #1

Hi Guys,

My Rv-House is stuck at "updating contact nodes" since I have reinstalled it.

I can't get p2p for almost 3 weeks, it started for no apparent reason.

I deleted my contacts.dat and kadc.ini and since then no p2p.

When I start Rv-House it shows updating contact nodes ... forever...

I've exposed my pc to the internet (firewall / anti-virus off, router on dmz to my ip) and still can't get past it.

I have 47624 TCP and 2300-2400 TCP/UDP open.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.

Touriga
Quote
Like
Share

Dolo
Alcoholic
Dolo
Alcoholic
Joined: 26 Feb 2012, 04:58 PM

11 Jul 2017, 07:12 AM #2

Ask someone nice (so not me) who can connect to the p2p to give you his contact.dat that you will put in your data folder of rvhouse ...
It should work because I already gave mine in the past and it solved the problem.
Do not thank me in advance, but you can KMA :-)
Quote
Like
Share

Abc
100% Proofer
Abc
100% Proofer
Joined: 7 Apr 2009, 06:43 PM

11 Jul 2017, 02:32 PM #3

P2P is something kinda blocked on some ISPs/firewalls.
contact.dat is rather dynamic but i guess the bootstrap is shared
i've tried deleting that and kadc.ini. that worked and didnt work
since p2p isnt essential for playing you can safely ignore issues with it. they're temporal anyway
i had an occasion where one computer would connect to p2p and the other wouldnt
Yes, I'm the ABC block and you can find me in Toy World 1 track! ;)
Reborn as Juest Zungo :P PS: I prefer chatting and i have Steam, Skype, Google and Microsoft account, just ask for it via PM or rarely find me in RVHouse. Also check out my interests.
Quote
Like
Share

Dolo
Alcoholic
Dolo
Alcoholic
Joined: 26 Feb 2012, 04:58 PM

11 Jul 2017, 02:58 PM #4

Nodes need to be updated sometimes ...
If in the default installation they are not, it is much more complicated to connect or it takes much longer.
This is exactly like with eMule and Kademlia (I guess Rvhouse uses it).
Sometimes it was necessary to update the list of nodes or else it was impossible to connect to Kad.
Touriga must test to replace his contact.dat in first to see.
Quote
Like
Share

sebr
Methanolic
sebr
Methanolic
Joined: 29 Jul 2010, 05:26 PM

12 Jul 2017, 12:34 PM #5

On Win10
- remplacing kadc.ini and contact.dat
- start Rv-House as administrator

And P2P is back !
thx Dolo
Quote
Like
Share

Abc
100% Proofer
Abc
100% Proofer
Joined: 7 Apr 2009, 06:43 PM

14 Jul 2017, 10:49 PM #6

sebr @ 12 Jul 2017, 09:34 AM wrote: On Win10
- start Rv-House as administrator
always run as admin with UAC ON
Yes, I'm the ABC block and you can find me in Toy World 1 track! ;)
Reborn as Juest Zungo :P PS: I prefer chatting and i have Steam, Skype, Google and Microsoft account, just ask for it via PM or rarely find me in RVHouse. Also check out my interests.
Quote
Like
Share