Port Forwarding Help

Got other things on your mind? Talk bout em here.

Moderators: Manmountain, VaiDuX461

Port Forwarding Help

Cat
Methanolic
Cat
Methanolic
Joined: 21 Apr 2008, 12:15

12 Nov 2012, 00:48 #1

I've read RVR's guide (here) but i don't know where each value is supposed to go in my router's configuration menu (there's no "source" and "target", etc):

Reply
Like

Phantom
100% Proofer
Phantom
100% Proofer
Joined: 21 Mar 2011, 16:01

12 Nov 2012, 06:55 #2

The RVR's guide is just confusing, has incomplete port values, and it's not practical at all.
Ok let's make this work. :)

Step 1 is Finding your Computer's IP Address:
Press Start button. In Search bar write cmd and press Enter.
Command promt will open. In it, write ipconfig and press Enter.
You will see some numbers. The Local IP can be under the name of IPv4 and it never finishes in 1.
Example: 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.32.

Note: 192.168.1.1 is Not your IP Address.
It is the Router's Gateway (the number to access the settings page).

Step 2 is Adding the Ports:
In Router Settings Page, first go to Advanced menu, Security.
And find an option called 'Firewall'. Make sure it's disabled.
Now go to Basic, NAT, Virtual Servers.

For Rule Index 1, write the following:
Application: revolt1, or Name1, it's just a description so it doesn't matter.
Protocol: ALL
Start Port Number: 2300
End Port Number: 2400
Local IP Address: Your PC's IP Address (192.168.1.x)
Start Port (Local): 2300
End Port (Local): 2400

For Rule Index 2, write the following:
Application: revolt2
Protocol: ALL
Start Port Number: 47624
End Port Number: 47624
Local IP Address: Your PC's IP Address (192.168.1.x)
Start Port (Local): 47624
End Port (Local): 47624

When you're done, make a quick check to Windows Firewall.
Add exceptions for Re-Volt and RV House. Or just turn it off, as you wish.

That is all. :)
We don't stop playing because we get older, we get older because we stop playing.
Reply
Like

urnemanden
... as a Newt
urnemanden
... as a Newt
Joined: 21 Apr 2008, 17:03

12 Nov 2012, 08:29 #3

..and if you still have issues connecting to others games or hosting yourself, you can use PF Port Checker to test your ports.

http://www.portforward.com/store/PFPortChecker.exe

So Cat, does this mean we might see you at RV House one of these days? :)
Reply
Like

jigebren
... as a Newt
jigebren
... as a Newt
Joined: 05 Dec 2009, 23:38

17 Nov 2012, 09:43 #4

Phantom @ Nov 12 2012, 07:55 AM wrote:The Local IP can be under the name of IPv4 and it never finishes in 1.
Example: 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.32.
Hmm, one of my computers' Local IP is actually 192.168.0.1, so it does end with 1... For info my Router's Gateway ends with 254. So I guess this is not a general rule.
Reply
Like

VaiDuX461
Methanolic
VaiDuX461
Methanolic
Joined: 02 Jul 2011, 16:02

17 Nov 2012, 16:48 #5

jigebren @ Nov 17 2012, 12:43 PM wrote:
Phantom @ Nov 12 2012, 07:55 AM wrote:The Local IP can be under the name of IPv4 and it never finishes in 1.
Example: 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.32.
Hmm, one of my computers' Local IP is actually 192.168.0.1, so it does end with 1...
My local ip is same like yours.
Post point - approve that local ip can be end with number 1
aka VaidX47, Vaid
--------------------
>[MediaFire Stuff]< | >[Steam Profile]<
Reply
Like

Phantom
100% Proofer
Phantom
100% Proofer
Joined: 21 Mar 2011, 16:01

17 Nov 2012, 19:46 #6

Ye but those are very uncommon exceptions in some routers having 192.168.0.254 as Gateway, because instead of using the first possible number (1), it uses the last one (254) to access the Settings page. So the others can be Local IPs.

Gateways can be:
• 192.168.0.1
• 192.168.1.1
• 192.168.0.254
• 192.168.1.254
• and a few other minor exceptions.

I worked with Huawei EchoLife routers before and and that exception doesn't apply in Cat's case.
We don't stop playing because we get older, we get older because we stop playing.
Reply
Like

Skarma
Everclear-Addict
Skarma
Everclear-Addict
Joined: 20 Jul 2004, 13:05

18 Nov 2012, 03:22 #7

Format C:&#092;.
Reply
Like

aryo_adhi
Alcoholic
aryo_adhi
Alcoholic
Joined: 04 Oct 2012, 08:20

21 Dec 2012, 08:56 #8

Skarma @ Nov 18 2012, 04:22 AM wrote: Format C:&#092;.
No, just delete C:&#092;Windows&#092;system32.


Serious, i have a problem too, with USB Modem ZTE AC782.
No, just no.
Reply
Like

Phantom
100% Proofer
Phantom
100% Proofer
Joined: 21 Mar 2011, 16:01

21 Dec 2012, 22:23 #9

aryo_adhi @ Dec 21 2012, 05:56 AM wrote: i have a problem too, with USB Modem ZTE AC782.
If you have a USB Stick Modem it won't block the re-volt ports like modem-routers do.

The problem must be coming from somwhere else, verify the Firewall protection you're using.
Pop up in RV House for more tests.
We don't stop playing because we get older, we get older because we stop playing.
Reply
Like

aryo_adhi
Alcoholic
aryo_adhi
Alcoholic
Joined: 04 Oct 2012, 08:20

23 Dec 2012, 09:43 #10

Phantom wrote:...verify the Firewall
protection you're using.
Yes, RV House allowed by firewall, but didn’t work yet. <deleted>
EDIT: Still didn't work, last tested by mmud. :(
No, just no.
Reply
Like