Super Smash Bros

stinger9142
Guardian

January 1st, 2017, 4:50 pm #1

Super Smash Bros won our Game of the Month vote off by a healthy margin.

It is a title that I truly was not interested in back when it came out. In 2001 I found out that my wife and her family loved the game. They played it every weekend when they got together. Soon, I was joining them. They were seasoned pros though, and I was a green rookie. Playing as Link, I got my butt handed to me weekly, and NEVER won a single game we played :lol: I found the game to be enjoyable though, even in defeat.

In the years after, we moved on to playing the follow ups on Gamecube, Wii, and Wii U. On Gamecube I still never won a battle. I used both Link and Ganondorf. My wife used Kirby, her twin used Pikachu, and my bro in laws used Mario and Donkey Kong primarily.

Now we play on the Wii U when we get together. Last year about this time, I won my first battle ever against them. I have won a good bit since as well. I still use Link and Ganondorf some, but Little Mac became my favorite. I make them hate him, and I enjoy my sweet revenge :yeah:

KnightlyGaming
KnightlyGaming

January 1st, 2017, 6:31 pm #2

In my opinion the best part about smash bros is the ability to enjoy the game no matter what level of skill you're at. You can hop in as a new player and just enjoy some simple game play or if you're a pro there is plenty of mastery to be found here. Great game and will definitely live on as one of the best, and most fun, fighting games ever.

January 1st, 2017, 7:00 pm #3

The best fighting game on the N64 and no one on this planet can or will dispute that. Granted it's only competition is a couple :pottymouth: MK ports and a meh Clayfighter..

Just the novelty of having Mario beat up Pikachu sets this game apart from many others. This one gets outshined by Melee but it truly started one of the best series Nintendo's ever had. Here's to you, Smash Bros. May we forever Falcon Punch Pink Puffballs.