Custer on PBS tonight......

Custer on PBS tonight......

Dennis
Dennis

January 17th, 2012, 11:37 pm #1

At least on Dish Network. Check you listings. It runs from 8-10 Eastern.

Loki Luv, MD°
Loki Luv, MD°

January 18th, 2012, 2:29 am #2

`
I never knew that much about Custer besides his part at Gettysburg & the Little Big Horn business. Seems like he was a bit of a dip.
LoL

Dennis
Dennis

January 18th, 2012, 10:44 am #3

They started right off with alluding to him being Jesus Christ reincarnate and saving the Union at Gettysburg. I did not double up on my blood pressure meds!

George was an odd duck and as big a publicity hound as any commander in our history. He was also, because of that trait, as much a hazard as hero on the battlefield.

I will need to watch it again as I studied the inside of my eyelids for a fair piece of the show.

John
John

January 19th, 2012, 4:55 am #4

I saw more weird inconsistancies in those two hours than I could possibly relate here. Way too much Custer worshipping.

Dennis
Dennis

January 19th, 2012, 10:41 am #5

I don't know that I can agree with it being too much Custer worship. While his shortcomings and hypocrisy could have been emphasized more, they were not ignored. I thought they did a fine job bringing out how wifey was primarily responsible for his reputation being sustained.

Without her he is dung IMO. Also IMO she most definitely was not a bad looking babe!

JB, I remember reading that he had an Indian wife and kid. Do you have the same recollection, and where did you see it?

John
John

January 19th, 2012, 5:22 pm #6