bigcatrik
Member
Joined: April 7th, 2014, 1:20 am

August 10th, 2018, 9:03 pm #941

At first I was right on time at 7 PM. Then I realized that the real times were significantly later than that so my arrival time has slipped, sometimes drastically. I wouldn't mind firm start times on any night.
Quote
Like
Share

kcor
Member
kcor
Member
Joined: August 22nd, 2017, 11:51 am

August 10th, 2018, 10:57 pm #942

I wrote this down about two months ago. Is it currently accurate?

Tuesday films around 10:30 ET 9:30 CT
Friday films around 11:30 ET 10:30 CT
Saturdays Svengoolie Me-TV  11:00 ET 10:00 CT
Quote
Like
Share

Rick
Member
Joined: December 22nd, 2004, 2:22 pm

August 11th, 2018, 12:22 am #943

...other than some Ray Harryhausen special effects...
I think you mean Willis O'Brien, Dan. I think this was his last job ever, actually. Or maybe you meant Jim Danforth, but I don't think Ray Harryhausen had a hand in this one.
“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
~ Douglas Adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul
Quote
Like
Share

CucamongaDan
Member
Joined: October 25th, 2006, 1:24 pm

August 11th, 2018, 3:20 am #944

Thanks for the correction Rick- I was repeating, without verification,  what I thought I'd heard. I must have heard wrong or misremembered.

From IMDB:

Special Effects by 
Danny Lee ... special effects
Chuck Gaspar ... special effects (uncredited)
Visual Effects by 
Linwood G. Dunn ... photographic effects
Farciot Edouart ... process photographer
James B. Gordon ... photographic effects
Jim Danforth ... miniature maker (uncredited) / stop-motion animator (uncredited)
Marcel Delgado ... miniatures (uncredited)
Willis H. O'Brien ... visual effects (uncredited)
Come one, come all, come check out the New Blind Hermit's Hut and Lounge . (The password is cucacuca3 ).    The new home for CHFB movie chats! Open 24/7  for CHFB members' conversations and random comment leaving.
Quote
Like
Share

CucamongaDan
Member
Joined: October 25th, 2006, 1:24 pm

August 11th, 2018, 3:21 am #945

kcor wrote: I wrote this down about two months ago. Is it currently accurate?

Tuesday films around 10:30 ET 9:30 CT
Friday films around 11:30 ET 10:30 CT
Saturdays Svengoolie Me-TV  11:00 ET 10:00 CT
Those are indeed the prevailing tendencies the last few months.
Come one, come all, come check out the New Blind Hermit's Hut and Lounge . (The password is cucacuca3 ).    The new home for CHFB movie chats! Open 24/7  for CHFB members' conversations and random comment leaving.
Quote
Like
Share

CucamongaDan
Member
Joined: October 25th, 2006, 1:24 pm

August 17th, 2018, 4:02 pm #946

It was a MAD MAD MAD MAD chat, and for such a long film it went very fast. Thanks to everyone who could make it!

Tonight, the chat room is festooned in psychedelic colors to celebrate another foray into the 1960s as our topic is a film that a certain singing group of the time authorized in order to complete their 3-movie obligation with United Artists.



61LCxNdzCHL._SX425_.jpg


The project turned out to most of the principle's satisfaction and become rather iconic.


Wikipedia

IMDB

Rolling Stone article on Yellow Submarine at 50


CHFB threads:
Movie of the Day
Yellow Submarine coming to DVD and BluRay (2012)
Discussion of proposed remake in Coming Soon folder
briefer discussion of same in Off-Topic


4BhufNZHqf10DTpAkGc6QPHSDdL.jpg yellow-submarine-restoration.jpg Sea_of_Monsters.jpg 107-48160-yellow-sub-1522946464.jpg



Come and help dissect


   yellosubtitle_t600x362.jpg
  
in the CHFB chat room!
Friday, August 17, 2018
7 PM Pacific, 8 PM Mountain, 9 PM Central, 10 PM Eastern
Come one, come all, come check out the New Blind Hermit's Hut and Lounge . (The password is cucacuca3 ).    The new home for CHFB movie chats! Open 24/7  for CHFB members' conversations and random comment leaving.
Quote
Like
Share