Scratch built BT-7 in 1:16 scale

This "virtual workbench" is hosted by Robert Oehler and Brett Green, and is designed so that Missing-lynx readers can share their "in progress" photos with the rest of the readership and generate constructive discussions. Participation is open to all Missing-lynx visitors.

Scratch built BT-7 in 1:16 scale

April 26th, 2012, 10:37 pm #1

Hi guys,

Ever since I've built the Eastern Express kit I have been in love with the Soviet BT-7 tank. In winter 2010, after I had collected enough reference material and had bought the Tamiya kit, I set about scratch building a model of this little tank in 1:16 scale. The project has been on the back burner for a year and a half, but I have recently picked up the project again and have made good progress with the turret.
This is a project of many firsts for me, and I'm still learning as I progress. I hope I'll ever reach 'Tegnerian' skill levels!

As you can see I have built most detail parts already, and I will have these cast in resin where I need multiples. I might have all parts cast for an additional model (perhaps I'll do a model 1937 if this one's finished). The wheels will be modelled in 3D by a friend and printed, then cast in resin.

I have finished drawing the hull plates in a vector image and these will be laser cut next week.

All comments are welcome!

- Eelke

April 27th, 2012, 2:19 am #2

...but a great job on this one! Crazy cool!

Best regards,

Robert

April 27th, 2012, 8:02 am #3

Hi guys,

Ever since I've built the Eastern Express kit I have been in love with the Soviet BT-7 tank. In winter 2010, after I had collected enough reference material and had bought the Tamiya kit, I set about scratch building a model of this little tank in 1:16 scale. The project has been on the back burner for a year and a half, but I have recently picked up the project again and have made good progress with the turret.