SAS Jeep North Africa, Matchbox 1/76

Hosted by Paul Giles, this discussion group is dedicated to 1/72 scale and smaller AFV modelling.

SAS Jeep North Africa, Matchbox 1/76

July 10th, 2012, 7:08 pm #1

This is my first attempt in Braille scale, normally I do aircraft in 1/48th, but I did it under pressure from some friends of mine-fanatic small scale lovers!!
I decided to do an SAS Jeep, since I really love the looks and the history of them and I used the old Matchbox kit from the LRDG box.
I used almost everything in the box to load it up,plus some resin and white metal items from my friends spare box-I had nothing suitable for this subject- plus several scratchbuild accessories.

With Tamiya Epoxy Putty I changed the looks of the crew,making them more characteristic SAS figures (something between shepherds dressed by Gaultier and officers dressed by a flea market basket)

I decided to go for Desert Pink-Olive Green camo.I used Gunze paints to make the appropriate tones and sprayed them with my Iwata.
I painted all the rest and the crew by brush with Vallejo acrylics.

And here is all together:

I have to admit that I really loved the experience and I'm already planning my next visit to the dark side!
Your comments,questions,criticism are more than welcomed.

Constantinos

July 10th, 2012, 7:20 pm #2

You got to be happy with that
great detail, Welcome
Cheers Elliott

July 10th, 2012, 7:21 pm #3

This is my first attempt in Braille scale, normally I do aircraft in 1/48th, but I did it under pressure from some friends of mine-fanatic small scale lovers!!
I decided to do an SAS Jeep, since I really love the looks and the history of them and I used the old Matchbox kit from the LRDG box.
I used almost everything in the box to load it up,plus some resin and white metal items from my friends spare box-I had nothing suitable for this subject- plus several scratchbuild accessories.