Resin question?

Hosted by Paul Giles, this discussion group is dedicated to 1/72 scale and smaller AFV modelling.

Resin question?

May 20th, 2017, 3:08 am #1

Hello all and sorry for the seemingly dumb question. So would it work if I molded and then cast soft plastic figures to make them resin? I wouldn't be selling them, just using them. Is this possible? I have never used resin before so this is a shot in the dark.

May 20th, 2017, 3:16 pm #2

Just going to have a compressor and paint pot to force the resin into the mold.
You can then convert parts (arms, legs, etc.) easier that way. Or convert them first, then make a a cast copy of them so they stand up to handeling better.

May 20th, 2017, 5:07 pm #3

Hello all and sorry for the seemingly dumb question. So would it work if I molded and then cast soft plastic figures to make them resin? I wouldn't be selling them, just using them. Is this possible? I have never used resin before so this is a shot in the dark.
It is possible - I make some resin parts for my own works. With figures it is difficult but possible

May 21st, 2017, 9:15 pm #4

Just going to have a compressor and paint pot to force the resin into the mold.
You can then convert parts (arms, legs, etc.) easier that way. Or convert them first, then make a a cast copy of them so they stand up to handeling better.
Chris, can you share more specifics on this, as one of the things that has put me off doing resin is air bubbles, and since I only want to do some bits, a vacuum chamber wouldn't be cost effective. So how does your approach work, as I didn't know that you could get your airbrush compressor to suck air instead of just blow.

May 23rd, 2017, 8:12 am #5