Questions regarding 3D printing

March 10th, 2018, 7:49 pm #1

I'd like to try out making my own figures and details through 3D printing (especially figures, since most commercial figures look like toys compared to the precision and detail of vehicles). I've never done this before, but I'm fairly conversant with design software like Photoshop, and willing to pick up the skills necessary -- plus, I think in my case it would be the easier path compared to traditional sculpting. What I'd like to find out, from anyone who has experience in this field, are two things:

1. What 3D design program would you recommend, and why (must run on Mac); and

2. What service would you recommend for the final output?

to get you started

March 10th, 2018, 10:31 pm #2

1: you might want to start looking into options here:https://www.shapeways.com/blog/archives ... hoose.html
Can't comment on software for figures since I only do mechanical subjects.

2: Regardless of what service you'll use, look for SLA printers.

Reedoak does some great figuring prints (3d scanning actual people). They are usually very helpful in explaining what kind of printer they are using. Getting your own printer is expensive, but still more affordable than many people think. $3000-4000 gets you a long way.
BTW, if you go over to the Constructive Comments page you'll find a topic from someone using a 3D printer to build a lovely Sd.Kfz.9/2

Good luck, half the work will be learning the software, the other half learning to make it do what you want (which includes thinking in 3D) If you pick the right printer I do not expect much issues in learning how to design for it.

Niels

Thanks, Niels

March 10th, 2018, 11:06 pm #3