looking for camera, Canon PowerShot A1100 IS any good?

This discussion group is is hosted by Robert Oehler and dedicated to the art of photographing models. Subjects include tips & techniques, equipment, lighting, and digital photography.

looking for camera, Canon PowerShot A1100 IS any good?

March 26th, 2010, 4:59 am #1

Hey guys
I have little experience with purchasing and owning a camera, and I have decided that I would like to purchase a digital cam. What I need is something that will work for everyday situations but still produce quality model images yet isn't terribly expensive as I am on a budget. I'm looking at the Canon Powershot A1100 IS and it seems like it would fit but I'm no expert. Any recommendations?
Thanks

March 27th, 2010, 6:15 pm #2

Both film and digital?

The Canon A1110 IS is a point and shoot camera best suited for taking pictures of people on vacation, at birthday parties and of vast project sites in American Samoa (I am a Civil Engineer by trade).

The A1110 can be used tro take photos of models, but is limited by it's lack of control of the aperture. When taking photos of models, I tend to be very close to the model. On a point and shoot camera (hereafter shortened to PS), this makes for a vert narrow depth of field. In other words, if your are taking a photo of a Tiger tank in 1/35th in a 3/4 front view and the turret numbers are in focus, the tip of the barrel will not be and the rear corner will not be.

here is a photo of a 1/48th scale Kurogane shot with my PS Sony W-30:

and again at a distance:

and cropped to look the same as the above:

If you don't have that much camera experience (film or digital) the A1110 is an OK place to start. Just remember, if you want a photo of the entire model to be in sharp focus, pull back from the subject, use a tripod and use the timer if possible. For detail shots, this camera has a 3cm minimum macro focus distance, so don't get closer than 3cm (1 1/2").