Best 1/72 M1 Abrams?

Hosted by Paul Giles, this discussion group is dedicated to 1/72 scale and smaller AFV modelling.

Best 1/72 M1 Abrams?

May 23rd, 2011, 5:04 am #1

I'm interested in building a 1/72 M1A1 Abrams and would like to hear people's input on what is the best available kit in this scale (quality of parts, accuracy, etc). I have Hasegawa's, Italeri's and Trumpeter's but am not 100% satisfied with any of them. My local hobby shop has been unable to get me any of the DML versions.

Your input will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Brian

May 23rd, 2011, 9:13 am #2

I'm no expert, but when I asked some time ago, the answer was that Revell's was the best.

Not sure if anything has changed since that.

regards,
Steen

The new kid on the block:
http://inscalemodelling.com

May 23rd, 2011, 2:53 pm #3

yup Revell's kit is superior

May 23rd, 2011, 5:02 pm #4

I'm interested in building a 1/72 M1A1 Abrams and would like to hear people's input on what is the best available kit in this scale (quality of parts, accuracy, etc). I have Hasegawa's, Italeri's and Trumpeter's but am not 100% satisfied with any of them. My local hobby shop has been unable to get me any of the DML versions.

Thanks.

Brian
You should be able to find Revell's M1A2 on E-bay. It's by far the better of the lot. You can build either the A1 or the A2 version fom it. Only problem is the tracks, they're the 'older' style...

HTH

Matt

May 23rd, 2011, 8:11 pm #5

yup Revell's kit is superior
according to several articles on this forum and an actual photographic study, Revel is too large, and the Dragon correct in size.

May 23rd, 2011, 9:40 pm #6

Thanks.

Brian
If it looks like an apple . . . it is an apple. Revell or Dragon is my choice. (n/t)

May 24th, 2011, 7:32 am #7

Thanks.

Brian
Hello,