A7V Baden I colors.

Hosted by Francois Gousse this discussion group is dedicated to AFV's of the First World War from all countries as well as tank development during the 1920s and 1930s.

A7V Baden I colors.

November 22nd, 2011, 7:00 pm #1

Hi everyone,

I might be building Sparta's A7V "Baden I " in the near future if I find the information I need.
My plans are to built the model from the box , so I would be the early version , before the make over so to speak.

My questions are , what was the color for the inside , and most important was are the options for the camo on the outside? And then the markings...
The nice folks of Sparta told me that only light grey or light green is possible...
Well I googled around but find not much imformation , and it is very confusing for me as I don't know much about these vehicles. I'm a real novice on WWI.

Is there anyone outhere kind enough to help me out with some clear answers?
I really want to work correct and avoid mistakes.

Many thanks in advance !

Cheers

Kristof

November 23rd, 2011, 12:41 am #2

I don't know why Sparta insists that 505 was painted in Feldgrau only. There is an image of 505 in Feb 1918 where it looks as if it is painted in a
single colour but there is an image of 505 on 21 March at St Quentin where the tank is obviously painted in a multi-colour camouflage. Exactly
what the colours were is a matter of speculation since the tank hadn't been through BAKP 20 where it most likely would been camouflaged in
Belgian railway colours (dark green, red-brown and cream/ochre) [from the Tankograd A7V book]. The Tankograd book is the best one around at the moment
on the A7V and certainly would help get the small unique details of #505 right.

No idea what the internal colour was likely to have been - I've never seen it mentioned.

Regards,

Charlie

November 24th, 2011, 1:13 am #3

Hi everyone,

I might be building Sparta's A7V "Baden I " in the near future if I find the information I need.