A different Marder - The IIIH

Hosted by Luciano Rodriguez and Pat Johnston, this discussion group is dedicated to 1/48 scale AFV, vehicle and figure modelling.

A different Marder - The IIIH

February 1st, 2011, 11:05 pm #1

Greetings! Just joined and this is my first attempt at posting a message, so anything could happen! Having recently retired, I have returned to a bit of 1/48th AFV modelling. (My first ever model was a 1/48th Aurora Panther made in 1957 when I was eleven so I have a bit of catching up to do on technique!) I've always liked less common subjects and enjoy "kit bashing", hence this Marder IIIH. The chassis is from a Tamiya Marder III PAK36r and the gun and its curved primary shield from the Marder IIIM. Rest is scratch built in plasticard and includes the internal ammo stowage etc. On reflection the side armour is too thick and the rivets probably too big but it's a start. Now I need to learn to paint it!

February 2nd, 2011, 3:03 am #2

very helpful for the Italian campaign, as these were used on some numbers there. A very nice job indeed.....

February 2nd, 2011, 4:19 am #3

Greetings! Just joined and this is my first attempt at posting a message, so anything could happen! Having recently retired, I have returned to a bit of 1/48th AFV modelling. (My first ever model was a 1/48th Aurora Panther made in 1957 when I was eleven so I have a bit of catching up to do on technique!) I've always liked less common subjects and enjoy "kit bashing", hence this Marder IIIH. The chassis is from a Tamiya Marder III PAK36r and the gun and its curved primary shield from the Marder IIIM. Rest is scratch built in plasticard and includes the internal ammo stowage etc. On reflection the side armour is too thick and the rivets probably too big but it's a start. Now I need to learn to paint it!
I think you have done a great job on this...well done!....just needa some weathering

Luke Pitt

February 2nd, 2011, 12:51 pm #4

Hi John!