Networking in QEmu (beginner)

Need help about Menuet ? Here is the place.

Networking in QEmu (beginner)

Travis86
Newbie
Travis86
Newbie
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 2:46 am

July 9th, 2010, 3:09 am #1

I know this is an easy question. I've read what I could find, and I've "pushed all the buttons," but I still can't figure it out.
If I'm starting Menuet in Qemu, how do I get the network working so I can, for instance, use the DNS client?
The host computer is 10.0.0.5 and is the gateway for the rest of my network. I set Menuet to 10.0.0.2 (using the stack configuration).
When I ping Menuet, it says the host is down or that there's no route to it (alternating, but mostly "host is down").
$ ping 10.0.0.2
PING 10.0.0.2 (10.0.0.2): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: Host is down
I can tell from the ARP table, the DNS client makes some connection to 10.0.0.5, but it never gets anywhere.
How do I get it to work?
Thanks.
Quote
Like
Share

Madis731
Advanced Member
Madis731
Advanced Member
Joined: October 8th, 2004, 5:31 pm

July 19th, 2010, 2:06 pm #2

I guess the problem you're having is simple. For example CONFIG.MNT has network set to 0 (disable) or something. If the case isn't so, please reply!
Quote
Like
Share

Travis86
Newbie
Travis86
Newbie
Joined: July 9th, 2010, 2:46 am

July 24th, 2010, 6:30 am #3

Sorry I didn't write back sooner - I thought it would notify me of replies.
Anyway, I got the Menuet web server working on a real computer. Then I got a Linux live CD working in QEMU. Then I tried Menuet (32 bit) in QEMU, and ... couldn't get it to work.
I switched my network to the IP range that QEMU assigned to the Linux guest, and tried to use Menuet's web server. When Menuet networking was turned off, Safari (on the host) would say the server wasn't found. When Menuet networking was turned on, Safari would sit and wait for the server. So, it seems to almost work. Menuet's server showed no activity. (Pinging didn't work, either.)
Perhaps one of the differences between Linux and Menuet is that the Linux host was getting an IP assigned by DHCP. (The DHCP client wouldn't work in Menuet).
I don't know what I'm doing wrong....
Quote
Like
Share

Madis731
Advanced Member
Madis731
Advanced Member
Joined: October 8th, 2004, 5:31 pm

August 2nd, 2010, 12:28 pm #4

I've been able to get static IP working in emulator (QEMU). I have not tried DHCP. Maybe something has changed with recent QEMUs because I only find an Intel e1000 NIC on QEMU but no Realtek. I hope its selectable :|
I will post back anything I find - its starting to get interesting
Quote
Like
Share

Madis731
Advanced Member
Madis731
Advanced Member
Joined: October 8th, 2004, 5:31 pm

August 3rd, 2010, 7:13 am #5

QEMU Manager 6 has an option to choose your video, networking etc. cards.
The list it gave me was:
Realtek 8139
NE2000 PCI
Quote
Like
Share

Madis731
Advanced Member
Madis731
Advanced Member
Joined: October 8th, 2004, 5:31 pm

August 3rd, 2010, 8:06 am #6

I drew a picture
http://nap.koduleht.net/Madis/tmp/MOSNET.png
on the background: fragment of QEMU manual
Quote
Like
Share