speaking of fish oil

speaking of fish oil

March 6th, 2011, 8:08 pm #1

I am curious what people took before cycling and whether they had Dr's approval.

Also, what are the amounts?

E.g., folgard...I'm really dithering over that because I can't get a prescription and can't figure out what the ratio is of B6, B12 and folic acid. And the folgard is 2.5 mg--so how many mcgs would that be? And then how much B12 and B6 do you add?

And would you have to do ALL of it? All 2.5 mgs?

We're all taking 1 mg right? At least that's what I think my prenatal says.

I'm not good at math!

And I am really reluctant to take it if it is not recommended. But then I am so torn because of course I'm feeling kind of desperate at this point.

March 6th, 2011, 8:39 pm #2

I couldn't get the brand Folgard in my country so I googled it and read the ingredients and 'built' it myself. I got an RX for folic acid. (I had to take a LOT of that-- 5 mg -- because of MTHFR, but my RI never mentioned B6 or B12 and I wanted to add it.)

What I found googling right now was that a folgard pill has 10 mg vitamin B6, 800 mcg folic acid, and 115 mcg B12.

A mg is 1000 mcg.

Hope this helps.

Anonymous
Anonymous

March 6th, 2011, 8:42 pm #3

I am curious what people took before cycling and whether they had Dr's approval.

E.g., folgard...I'm really dithering over that because I can't get a prescription and can't figure out what the ratio is of B6, B12 and folic acid. And the folgard is 2.5 mg--so how many mcgs would that be? And then how much B12 and B6 do you add?

I'm not good at math!

And I am really reluctant to take it if it is not recommended. But then I am so torn because of course I'm feeling kind of desperate at this point.
Folgard® Rx 2.2 (this was what was prescribed to me by the Beer Center)contains:

2.5 mg folic acid
25 mg Vitamin B6
1000 mcg Vitamin B12

(yes I took this in addition to a prenatal)