RBA Frozen Egg Bank - How many tries does it take? Guarantee vs standard program?

RBA Frozen Egg Bank - How many tries does it take? Guarantee vs standard program?

June 24th, 2011, 6:35 pm #1

Hi.

I'm a newbie to DE.

After lurking on this site for many months, DH (Caucasian) and I (Asian/Vietnamese) have finally decided to take the plunge into DE and are strongly considering the egg bank at RBA due to their donor pool and high success rates.

Anyone know how many cycles/donors most people typically take, before they are successful? After 3 years of TTC and 2 failed IUIs and 2 failed IVFs, we really want peace of mind and are weighing the newly offered guarantee program ($36,500 for 5 donor cycles) versus the standard program ($16,500 for 1 donor cycle) at RBA.

Is the guaranteed program a big mistake? What would you do? HELP!!!

June 24th, 2011, 7:21 pm #2

Who thinks a guarantee program is a mistake, if you qualify, and that can be a big if. These are all frozen egg cycles? Have you been able to find out how many SE Asian donor eggs they have banked? Depending on what's covered, $7300 a shot is about what you would pay for a fresh cycle overseas, and my understanding is that RBA's frozen egg cycles have success rates comparable to fresh. So, yeah, I've always thought $16,500 for a frozen egg cycle was not reasonable when you can get a fresh whole cycle at CNY for $11K+meds, but that sounds a little more thrifty, especially if you get money back with no success. What happens if you get pg on the first cycle? I looked into my original clinic's guarantee program, but aged out due to needing surgery before cycling. Take care and welcome, Maggie (in VA)
Last edited by maggie1961 on June 25th, 2011, 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

June 24th, 2011, 7:34 pm #3

Dear Maggie:

Thanks for the quick response. DH and I are also from VA.

As of last week, the RBA egg bank has about 5-7 asian donors, so this is one of the top reasons that we're considering RBA over SG.