Newbie with a few questions

Newbie with a few questions

Justkeepswimming
Justkeepswimming

September 22nd, 2011, 2:44 pm #1

Hi there, after my 4th IVF attempt we are now seriously considering DE. We think we will have to do it by February next year due to DH work calendar.

I was looking into Shady Grove and some other clinics. For the past 8 months we've been living in Asia but we are willing to travel to the US or any other place, once we find the right clinic.

These are some of our requirements so please let me know if you know of a clinic that meets them.

1. We would like to see adult pictures of the donors as well as medical history
2. Would like to have the option of a shared risk cycle
3. Donor must be screened

I can't think of anything else right now, so if any of you think there is something else to consider please let me know. I'm fairly new to this.

Thanks

September 22nd, 2011, 3:31 pm #2

There are a lot of SG ladies here, and I'm not, but I think SG doesn't show adult photos of donors. Would you prefer a west coast clinic, or does it matter? I'm going to think you and/or DH aren't Asian or you would take advantage of the affordable Asian clinics. If you're of northern European or African heritage, I think South African clinics allow you to see adult photos, and that's a lower cost destination -- would that be an easier trip?

Pretty much all U.S. clinics will screen donors according to ASRM guidelines, so is there something in particular you were concerned about? Actually, the Czech clinic where I cycled follows ASRM guidelines, too.

Take care,

Maggie (in VA)

Anonymous
Anonymous

September 23rd, 2011, 9:52 am #3

Thanks for responding Maggie,

We are not Asians so we can't do DE here. I have checked some clinics in South Africa and you are right they seem pretty affordable plus sounds like a nice vacation.