How many to transfer?..newbie question

How many to transfer?..newbie question

Pip
Pip

November 14th, 2011, 5:05 pm #1

Hi Ladies,

I'm new to DE and currently just finished my BCPs and waiting for AF to arrive so I can start estrogen.
I am in the UK and going abroad for DE. My donor is totally anonymous, I will not even know her age until I get a BFP.The clinic use vitrified eggs, although I have requsted a fresh donor cycle but it depends on the day, also they use ICSI.They take to embryos to day 3 only.The donors are generally students in their early 20s.
So I am really in a quandry as to how many embryos to transfer. I am not adverse to having twins but would prefer not to but I really want this to work.. I have been waiting so long for a baby
My heart says transfer two.

I wonder what your thoughts are?

November 14th, 2011, 5:44 pm #2

says about the embryos on day 3 to make a final decision. Clearly factors involved are quality of embryos, how well you 'do' implantation e.g. and skill of clinic.

However, I personally would counsel that you have 2 day 3s transferred.

I had a frozen donor embryo transfer of 2 x day 3 embies and ended up with twins. If you transfer 3 then you really do need to be prepared for twins IMHO.

What are the clinic's stats. like for twins?

Why are they not considering taking the embies to blast?

My twins were conceived in IVI Valencia and am yet to have any info. from the clinic except blood type and age of donors, despite being promised more.

My twins are now aged 5 and I still do not know whether their donors were actually Spanish or not.

In my case, I have chosed to be completely open with my two and started telling them about DE from birth. I would love to know their donors' nationality and a bit more about them.

Anyway, lots of luck for your transfer...

Best,
Daisy
xxxx

November 14th, 2011, 6:17 pm #3

Hi Ladies,

I'm new to DE and currently just finished my BCPs and waiting for AF to arrive so I can start estrogen.