Fertilization Rates with CGH Normal Eggs After Vitrification?

Fertilization Rates with CGH Normal Eggs After Vitrification?

Anna
Anna

April 17th, 2011, 6:36 pm #1

Sorry for the barge.

Does anyone here know what the fertilization rate is for eggs that have 'passed' CGH and then been frozen through vitrification? Is the rate less than eggs that are fertilized after ET?

Do you have a better chance if you fertilize the eggs then do the CGH and vitrification?

April 17th, 2011, 7:06 pm #2

It was 100% for us. 6 normal frozen eggs....none made it to blast though. We were heartbroken. He has quoted some impressive success rates with it though.
Last edited by Blessed_Thistle on April 17th, 2011, 7:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Anna
Anna

April 17th, 2011, 7:50 pm #3

Thanks. I'm new to all of this so maybe this is a stupid question. But how can 6 new eggs (as evidenced through CGH) be fertilized and then not make it to blast? What did the doctor say?

April 17th, 2011, 8:16 pm #4

of not reaching transfer. I thought, well, between the two of us, that is just a 1% chance of neither of us making transfer. It seemed worth the risk of paying all we had to pay to meet the study parameters (about $1000 worth of testing, we both needed ivig at $3500 etc). We never did get a WTF meeting with Dr Sher. Maybe if we'd asked we could have. But the day after I got home, I found a local egg freezing study and my friend and I both were able to participate in it. The eggs were not CGH tested but we did both at least get to transfer.

LadyMagoo
LadyMagoo

April 18th, 2011, 3:03 am #5

It was 100% for us. 6 normal frozen eggs....none made it to blast though. We were heartbroken. He has quoted some impressive success rates with it though.
OMG - I'm so sorry. That must have been excrutiating. Did this happen during a DE or own egg cycle?

I ask because we are (and perhaps now, were) considering CGH with our upcoming DE cycle.

April 18th, 2011, 3:49 am #6