Tread construction using individual links

Tread construction using individual links

July 14th, 2012, 9:24 pm #1

I primarily build aircraft but recently bought the Trumpeter 1/35 Soviet B-4 M1931 203mm Howitzer kit for a diversion. My armor builds have been few and very far between so I am just a beginner in some respect. This kit has track treads made using individual links and that's where I'm stumped as to the best way to build the tracks. The links do not snap together - they glue together. What is the best way to build the treads and end up with a convincing look to the treads? I'm assuming the individual links will require being painted while still attached to their sprue. The instructions show 38 links per tread. ANY help would be MOST appreciated. This is a very detailed and unusual looking piece of artillery with its tracks instead of the usual wheels, a very good fitting model and too costly to end up on the shelf of doom because I cannot get the tracks done in a realistic manner. Thanks for any advice.

Keep 'em flyin'

July 14th, 2012, 11:36 pm #2

Build (glue together) the tracks into two or three sections per side. In other words, glue all of them together, but leave two or three "breaks" where there is no glue. Then press fit the two or three sections on each side while the glue is still setting and flexible, so you can form them perfectly to the running gear. Make sure not to use too much glue so it runs onto your running gear and cements the tracks to it. Once the tracks are formed and fit the running gear nicely, leave them to dry and harden.

DON'T paint the tracks until they have been glued and are completely dry. If you paint them first, then each time you glue a link together, the paint will interfere with the glue, making it a nightmare to keep them all glued together adequately. Ask me how I know this...