T-34/76 produced by STZ, CyberHobby - is this for real???

T-34/76 produced by STZ, CyberHobby - is this for real???

July 5th, 2012, 12:52 am #1

I'm an a/c modeler, and know nothing about 1/35 really. I do odd 1/48 trucks etc. as attributes for my aircraft models. Anyway
A good friend asked me to buy him the kit from a local hobby store. They didn't have one in stock, even though had it listed on website.

eBay to the rescue - is this crazy or what??? 4 days left and already over 300 greenbacks! What the ....??? Geee... I gave up

July 5th, 2012, 4:49 am #2

Cyberhobby white box kits can command stupid prices... what's more I've heard the STZ kit requires some advanced modeling skills to put together as many parts don't fit.

It's unusual for a CH T-34 to command those prices, usually a Tiger will.

July 5th, 2012, 6:08 am #3

I'm an a/c modeler, and know nothing about 1/35 really. I do odd 1/48 trucks etc. as attributes for my aircraft models. Anyway
A good friend asked me to buy him the kit from a local hobby store. They didn't have one in stock, even though had it listed on website.

eBay to the rescue - is this crazy or what??? 4 days left and already over 300 greenbacks! What the ....??? Geee... I gave up

getting that much on E-bay. I just sold one on this site a couple of weeks ago for $30.00. The STZ 1941 is a good one but the STZ 1942 is the one wrought with danger.

Roy

July 5th, 2012, 5:25 pm #4

not builders. Many of the subjects in CyberHobby white boxes can be had with standard kits and conversions for much less than the asking price of the CH kits.

They're made in limited quantities, available through fewer sources (than mainstream Dragon kits), tend to be of very specific vehicles and are basically just Dragon kits marketed differently.

Someone paying $300 or even $100 for these kits is probably a collector versus a modeler wanting to build that specific variant.