RIP Don Bennett of Don's Model Works

RIP Don Bennett of Don's Model Works

March 11th, 2012, 1:02 am #1

Many of you knew my father, Don Bennett of Don's Model Works, either from face-to-face meetings at model sales and shows, or from telephone or email conversations about aircraft and model-building. I am sorry to announce that Dad died in September 2011 after a long fight with cancer. I put up a memorial page for Dad, with some photos and a short biography, on our website at www.donsmodelworks.com/DPB_bio.htm. If you haven't seen it yet, please take a look.

I am Chuck Bennett, Don's son, and I have been helping him out part time for many years with Wings Models LLC (producing vacuform model kits formerly made by Vac-Wings, Wings 48, Wings 72, and Eagles Talon) and with the Don's Model Works website and eBay sales. I am now the owner and operator of both businesses.

I joined up here because I wanted to announce Dad's passing to those who knew him, and let y'all know about the memorial page that I made. I also expect that I will be back from time to time with questions for those more knowledgeable about models and aircraft.

I do not have Dad's modeling expertise or enyclopedic knowledge of aircraft. I expect that in the future I will have questions here needing your advice as I work on upgrading some of our materials, putting some of our out-of-production kits back into production, and listing Dad's extensive kit collection for sale. If you have any questions for me, you can email me or visit our website.

Chuck Bennett
www.donsmodelworks.com

March 11th, 2012, 1:11 am #2

I bought a number of things from Don on ebay. Good guy.
Sorry to hear of Don's passing.

March 11th, 2012, 1:17 am #3