Revell enamel color not good for washes ??

Revell enamel color not good for washes ??

June 16th, 2012, 6:07 pm #1

Lately I'm using the enamel colors of revell, thinned with white spirits for my enamel washes, but they don't dry very smooth. The wash goes on well, but the shadows left are too grainy. It's the same with newer odourless white spirit.
Washes with Humbrol seemed much better and smoother when dry, without 'drying circles'. Any ideas or tips ?
Also, do you guys use a lot of acrylic paint for washes ? For instance Vallejo ? I'm not very experienced with these, but white spirit sometimes smells too much.

Regards,
J

June 16th, 2012, 6:20 pm #2

Instead I use some good quality artist's oils and Weber's Turpenoid synthetic thinner. They go on smooth, won't effect most well cured model paints, and dry slow enough that you can adjust them before they set up. A few basic colors (black, burnt umber, raw umber, ochre, etc.) will allow you do shade just about anything and the big tubes will last forever.

June 16th, 2012, 6:38 pm #3

Lately I'm using the enamel colors of revell, thinned with white spirits for my enamel washes, but they don't dry very smooth. The wash goes on well, but the shadows left are too grainy. It's the same with newer odourless white spirit.
Washes with Humbrol seemed much better and smoother when dry, without 'drying circles'. Any ideas or tips ?
Also, do you guys use a lot of acrylic paint for washes ? For instance Vallejo ? I'm not very experienced with these, but white spirit sometimes smells too much.

Regards,
J