Painting a vinyl figure

Painting a vinyl figure

February 21st, 2010, 5:59 am #1

What is the best paint to use for a vinyl figure. I tried some Tamiya lacquer and it doesn't seem to be drying.

February 21st, 2010, 2:39 pm #2

You need to use acrylic paints ONLY! Anything else leeches the oils out of the vinyl
and your model will not dry! I use Apple Barrel Colors by Plaid. They're craft paints available at Michael's and A.C. Moore. Be careful as they airbrush well, but some of the light colors don't cover as well in one coat. As long as they're acrylic paints, you shouldn't have any problems. You can also speed dry acrylics and keep right on painting. Testors Dull Cote works fine over Apple Barrel paints.

By April, my latest DVD, "Figure Model Airbrushing" will be available for $35.00 ppd.

Happy Painting!
Phil Lister

February 21st, 2010, 8:21 pm #3

Thanks I will give it a try. I am new to figure painting

Thanks again for your help.

March 8th, 2010, 3:58 pm #4

You need to use acrylic paints ONLY! Anything else leeches the oils out of the vinyl
and your model will not dry! I use Apple Barrel Colors by Plaid. They're craft paints available at Michael's and A.C. Moore. Be careful as they airbrush well, but some of the light colors don't cover as well in one coat. As long as they're acrylic paints, you shouldn't have any problems. You can also speed dry acrylics and keep right on painting. Testors Dull Cote works fine over Apple Barrel paints.

By April, my latest DVD, "Figure Model Airbrushing" will be available for $35.00 ppd.

Happy Painting!
Phil Lister
I am thinking of the old MARX 6 inch high flexible figures. I do not know if these are made of vinyl or a cheaper plastic.
Have you had any experience with paint flaking off of flexible figures? Any suggestions, besides do not handle them?
Also, how will you announce the issuing of your CD on figure painting? I am interested.
Thank you,
Stephen

March 8th, 2010, 4:26 pm #5