P-40's tarnished Reputation

P-40's tarnished Reputation

July 24th, 2012, 6:36 pm #1

Years ago(wow do I have to say that now?) I did quite a bit of reading and research on the P-40. I am by no means an expert. The P-40 has always had a tarnished reputation. I always wondered why. I've gathered that the U.S. was unprepared for a war in the Pacific. It was a desperate time and lots of mistakes were made. The P-40 was thrown into the fight with a unplanned, unprepared scenario. All eyes were on what success we could achieve with the P-40 in the Pacific since in every newspaper read of Japanese success. Where would the people find fault for such success? Well since the P-40 was there, there really wasn't much one could really blame. So thus I believe the reputation of the P-40 was born. The P-40 did have quite a few performance flaws. But in the end I strongly think that had there been any other type of aircraft in place at the time the P-40 was fighting, there really wouldn't have been any difference. One cannot effectively fight a war without a sound plan and tools for the job. Just my $.02 anyway.

Some notes:

1. The first days of war for the U.S. saw the majority of the U.S air force aircraft destroyed on the ground. One cannot effectively fight without fighting equipment!

2. With such a haste to send aircraft to the Pacific during early 1942 the P-40's were without some essential hardware. Hundreds of crated P-40's arrived to Australia but no coolant, ammo, or other essential equipment were available to operate them.

3. Many U.S. combat pilots were green, fresh from flight school! Some had little to no time in the P-40.

4. Very little was known about the Japanese aircraft or how to effectively combat them.

5. The harsh conditions of the Pacific took it's toll on man and machine. The vast Geography of the Pacific.

Just food for thought.

Cheers,
Nate

Last edited by Nathan123 on July 24th, 2012, 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.