Looking for a 1/35 SAS conversion

Looking for a 1/35 SAS conversion

Jim Kiker
Jim Kiker

December 21st, 2011, 5:50 pm #1

Hi all,

I am an airplane modeler but I want to do an SAS Jeep in 1/35 scale. I have an old boxing of the Tamiya Jeep with trailer, and I've ordered a set of figures from New World Miniatures. What I need is a set of the guns, tanks, etc. to convert the Jeep to SAS "standard." Legend makes a double set as well as a single set plus the civilian wheels. There are other sets out there as well. So, I am looking for a SAS set for one Jeep; perhaps a full half of a legend double set or someone else's full set for one. Does anyone here have a set of parts to spare? I know I can get them commercially, just thought I would try here first.

I also stand ready to adjust my sights based on input by you armor experts if there are better sets to be had, ones to avoid, etc. I have seen a set on Hobbylink Japan too; too rich for me!

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Cheers, Jim

December 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm #2

co's conversion sets are very nice and pricey. You may wish to consider and a little less pricey.... using parts from the old Tamiya SAS jeep itself, ie, MG's, MG mounts, jerry can's, extra's. Or use parts from the Italeri SAS Commando Jeep, ie MG's, MG mounts and extra's. The old Tamiya Jeep you have will need it's grill modified and if you're doing a SAS jeep for N. Africa, there's a water cooler I think for the raditor that you'll need...scratch build????
Also remeber the kit you have the Tamiya Jeep w/trailer is nearing 50 years old....even the Tamiya SAS jeep isn't that old!!! Mike.

December 21st, 2011, 6:22 pm #3

Hi all,