First Time Car Builder Paint Question

June 26th, 2018, 7:56 pm #1

Hello Everyone.

I've modeled for years, but I'm currently working on my first car model of a Pontiac Fiero and I'm unsure of painting it.

I would like to use the actual colors which I can find from aftermarket automotive touch up paint companies.  This is my first time and I want to get this right, my questions are:

Am I best using the same brand primer on the plastic model as the brand of the automotive touch up paint?

Am I better getting the paint in the bottle and thinning it for the airbrush, or get a spray can and decant it?

How do I thin these paints for airbrushing?

Thanks so much for your help to me!

Alan

June 27th, 2018, 12:26 am #2

I've done same building models of friend's cars as gifts for yrs. Most were re-paints of metal (or resin) 18th or 43rd models but I've done a few using 24th styrene kits. Best advise I can give is spend the extra ten mins to test first! Every/anything that's iffy.

Most all primers, from the hobby shop or the local auto supply, should work, tho I'll bet some primers are so strong that they could harm raw kit styrene. Other way poss too. Auto color coat could melt a hobby primer paint.Test first.

Thinner from the hardware store, hobby shop, auto paint jobber will prob all do for a model paint job, but if you can swing it, buy the paint manuf's recommended thinner or a hi Q auto paint thinner. Maybe a local auto painter will sell you a mayo jar's worth of DuPont auto paint thinner for five bucks. I have a gal can, bought many yrs ago, $$, but a gal lasts me yrs.

I've thinned paint from both touch-up bottle/applicator and decanted from a sm spray can. I've always ended up thinning the decanted spray can stuff too. I like to shoot very thin thru my Iwatas and Badgers. The touch up stuff is thicker. Unless the price diff is big, I'd go w/ the smallest spray can the parts dept sells and decant.