Anyone up on geometry? I need an angle.

Anyone up on geometry? I need an angle.

January 4th, 2012, 7:12 pm #1

Hello:

I am embarrassed to say I forgot how to solve a simple geometry problem even though geometry was my strongest math way back in 10th grade, and I have an engineering degree from a "previous life." I guess if you don't use it, you lose it.

I am going to taper legs for a sofa table I am making for friends who lost their home in a fire. I have been making replacement furniture for them. It's an excuse to do some woodworking since model kits are so expensive now. Plus, I'm getting far-sighted.

Basically, the taper forms a triangular piece of scrap wood from a 27.25" long piece. The taper begins 5" down and a triangular scrap piece will be 22.25" long (side "a") x 1/2" wide (side "b"). I have "a" and "b" sides of a square triangle. A square corner being formed by "a" and "b" at the bottom. I am not worried about the hypotenuse's ("c") length. The cut will leave a 1" wide foot with the original width being 1.5".

What I want is the angle formed by this scrap piece's vertex opposite side "b" so I can set a table saw tapering fence properly.

Am I correct in thinking I can get this angle by using the tangent of b/a? Actually, I think the arc-tangent would give an angle. Since I don't know the hypotenuse's length, but I have two sides, tangent is the function to use?

I do realize, however, the pythagorean theorem would let me calculate side "c." That would then allow the use of either sine or cosine.

Just wondering. I don't want to mess up a lot of wood doing trial and error cuts. I am pretty sure of myself, but I thought I'd share this problem with you guys.

Thanks.

- Dustin Faulkner

January 4th, 2012, 7:50 pm #2

It looks like about a 1 and a half degree angle

or more closely if you use InvTan about 1.28 degrees but getting .28 degrees may be tough so I fudged it to 1.5 deg......