1/48 scale Kittyhawk vs. Hawk inner upper wings?

1/48 scale Kittyhawk vs. Hawk inner upper wings?

October 16th, 2016, 4:57 pm #1

Hi all,

Does anyone here have both the Kittyhawk and the old Hawk kits of the Banshee? I am no expert on the Banshee but for me the Kittyhawk wing root would have to be fixed or never built. Still, I wonder if the Hawk inner, upper wing could be fairly easily adapted to the Kittyhawk kit? I can see that work on the upper fuselage/wing roots would be needed, but this sounds like a fix that most of us (who are interested) could handle. If you have both kits I'd enjoy seeing the bits together to see if this is feasible or merely a pipe dream!

Thanks, Jim
Last edited by jkiker on October 16th, 2016, 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

October 16th, 2016, 5:32 pm #2

Working on the KH Banshee now. Here's some comparison pix. A lot of plastic would have to be removed from the Hawk wing to even get close to try it. Not what I want to do on a Sunday.

Sure, the KH wing is too bulged, but, to me, it's not worth the effort to attempt a fix. It will look like a Banshee to me after it's together.

October 16th, 2016, 7:18 pm #3

Based on your first two pictures, it is hard to believe that Kitty Hawk and Hawk were modeling the same aircraft.

In the first photograph (of the lower wing) the engine nacelle shapes and their spatial relationship to the wheel wells are completely different. However, neither the Ginter nor Squadron publication provides an accurate drawing of the underside so it is not clear which is more correct.

On the Hawk, the top of the engine nacelles is more like the 1:1 aircraft, but the kit is "see through" with no intake trunking or engine, and there seems little hope the Kitty Hawk details could be adapted.