CB750 DOHC engine valve head problems new/uneducated builder

902skinny
902skinny

July 11th, 2018, 12:13 pm #1

So quick preface, I have no idea how to build or work on a chopper, have always loved them and wanted to build one so I bought a cb750 basket case a year ago that supposedly just needed a new cam chain and was half tore apart so I figured it'd be an easy project to start on, hah. Anyways as stated I have no experience or really clue what I'm doing, just trying to fumble my way through the processes and learn some new things and practice to get better and more educated. That being said some of my questions may be silly or ridiculous but I welcome anybody who wants to help me learn some things and please keep in mind I have no idea what I'm doing so try to explain things like you would to a layman. I'm going to have to ask for tons of advice during this build but the first couple real hiccups I've found are below, any help or advice is appreciated.

Problem #1
I'm tearing down the cases to get them seperated and as I'm doing this I find lots of people always saying check the valve compression which I can't do because the cylinders were already off when I got the bike (more of that problem later). But  I did run some water through the valves and found out that more or less 70% of them are leaking. And after taking a good look at other builds and parts I can probably tell why, they look like shit and the seals are scary looking. I'm thinking that replacing valves themselves is probably a complicated job that might be way too advanced for a new guy like me but I'm not sure. So i'm pondering whether or not I should maybe just buy a replacement top end that needs less work. So the question now is after looking at the photos below, do you guys think the valves are likely totally shit or is it possibly something that could be fixed by a totally inexperienced guy like me for fairly cheap? Will cost me about $200 bucks to replace the whole top valve head.