Job help

Job help

December 18th, 2011, 11:35 am #1

I am thinking about getting a p/t job and I think I found a fun place that I might like. I am not sure if I need to - but I was thinking of update or re-working my resume but I am stuck - technically I have not been "employed" since before DD was born - actually before that = pre-pregnancy. I was a fitness instructor and makeup artist/skincare professional but don't want to go back into that area. This job is "artsy" so my skills could translate but it's more about multitasking and customer service...the job is at a very cool painting pottery place if that helps.

I have also been active in my community as a volunteer for many years and hold an executive position, so that might help...

I could put that I was working for my husband for this entire time - which I do - but not sure. Then if they ask why am I leaving what would I say? Need a change?
Could use the money?? Not sure how to go about it.

Do I write Stay at home Mommy???

Any thoughts would be great!

Thanks!

December 19th, 2011, 2:36 pm #2

Fleur,

I'm definitely not the expert here but the advice I have seen if your work experience isn't a continuous time sequence is to organize your resume on skills rather than as a timeline. An online example/explanation (that I dug up just by googling) is here: http://blogs.wsj.com/laidoff/2009/03/23 ... ed-resume/ . I hope that's some help.

There's a wonderful pottery painting place in our town that is really great for kids so if that's not a market yours is already in maybe you could emphasize how your experience as a mom could help you bring in those new customers (if you want to/think it would be of interest). Or of course is they are already customers you could talk about how your experience as a mom will serve you in serving those customers. Or you may prefer not to link your "mom experience" at all, but just thought it could be a good fit.

GL!

Best wishes,
Alex

December 20th, 2011, 2:29 am #3