Modern handcuff failure points

July 29th, 2018, 4:34 pm #1

I have been watching a video from a US law enforcement officer talking on a live stream. He got a question about the life, usage and replacement of handcuffs.

The officer said typically they use handcuffs until they break and don't replace them before that. He said usually they break while on the person and they can't get them off, so it's not too much of a risk for the officer as far as securing people. They take them back to the station and cut them off. But he said they usually fail on the person and they cannot undo them. So this got me to thinking. I am not an expert but I have seen handcuff cut-throughs and have had (and still have some) many handcuffs over the years in my collection. So what exactly are the things that could be going wrong with the handcuffs that would get them stuck on the person to where the key does not work?

This is the example that he has:

I am torn between thinking it's a problem with the key or the cuff. Since the key gets stuck, at least in THIS particular instance, I personally believe the problem is with a worn key that the bit on the end is either no longer sticking out long enough or has become rounded so that it catches on the ledge of the pawl to raise it but too much force during the keyturn and it scoots off the ledge and the pawl snaps shut behind it. That is my only theory at this point.

If anyone with more experience has any points to add to this on how modern handcuffs fail during use and why it happens? I would be very interested and I think it could be helpful for people in occupations where handcuffs are used, so that perhaps people can make better decisions on maintenance and replacement.

July 29th, 2018, 8:21 pm #2