November 3rd, 2006, 8:04 pm #11

Hi Tom, Nice to hear from you.My research has been quite extensive but alas,never ending with all the constant updates. Who was your fathers pilot?
lf you decide to visit l will be more than happy to give you a tour of the old airfield and the haunts of the crews.l have had so much information provided by ex aircrews of 424 and 433 squadrons as well as invaluable photographic copies,and am eternally grateful to all.The old airfield is quite run down these days,bombed and strafed by time,but enough remains to get the general picture of life in a quite Yorkshire hamlet.

Kind regards, Mike Pepe, Yorkshire, England

Anonymous
Anonymous

November 12th, 2006, 10:10 pm #12

Hi , Your post interests me.
You will know that RCAF Squadrons operated from Skipton . The Flight Engineers were RAF .

I was a Flight Engineer with 433 Squadron from August 1944 to March 1945. The aircraft were Halifax 111's later converted to Lancasters. I took part in 30 missions flying in Halifax's, then Lancasters .

Re: Skipton on Swale.

R.Dufresne
R.Dufresne

November 11th, 2008, 12:22 am #13

Hi, Has anyone anything at all,no matter how trivial,on RAF Skipton on Swale.Any stories,photographs or contact from anyone who served there(air or groundcrew) would be much appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
Hi my father was a radio operator in the 2 ww ans was stationned in your town.

He was in the crash that hit a big tree ans 2 airmen and a young boy was killed

Is your book finished? .

rod butson
rod butson

November 11th, 2008, 3:41 pm #14

Hi, Has anyone anything at all,no matter how trivial,on RAF Skipton on Swale.Any stories,photographs or contact from anyone who served there(air or groundcrew) would be much appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
Hi, some info availabe from author and owner of book listed in message title - per 433 Porcupine Sqdn. contact rod with above listed email -- porcupine pal.

rod butson
rod butson

November 11th, 2008, 3:43 pm #15