Better Putterface Impact Pattern

Better Putterface Impact Pattern

February 19th, 2003, 5:58 pm #1

Hello Geoff,

Your site is by far the best I have ever seen, and, being an analytic, I enjoy your reasond explanations of "why". I thought I would send a note and ask for some help. Some background:

I am a 1 handicap and putting is one of my strengths. I use an arm and shoulder stroke with no wrist movement, left hand low. My putter is a "Positive Putter" from a company in the midwest... I've been using it consistently for 7 years... and is target line balanced. It looks a little like a standard hollowed out PING, but the shaft bends as it approaches the center of the head to attach closer to the heel. The sole is rounded so it doesn't have a staright level bottom like most putters.

Now, my problem. I am finding with impact tape that my contact point is a bit high on the face and the pattern is an elipse from just on the heel side of dead center to a bit high on the face toward the toe. The elipse is about 3/4 of an inch. Many of the putts feel "thin".... those high on the face. Very few feel like they are on the toe or heel side of the sweet spot. Those that are "dead on" feel and sound wonderful.... but I can't get there consistently enough.

I find that if I keep my upper arm connected to my chest I get more solid strikes, but even that is inconsistent. Direction is not an issue.... almost all putts are dead on line.

I guess I have 2 thoughts. 1. the "elipse" seems too long..... I'd like to get it to about 1/2 inch..... and 2. the shape should be more horizontal I assume, and in the center, not high on the face (that would make the putts more solid as opposed to feeling like a glancing strike).

I'd appreciate any of your thoughts.

Regards,

Ed

Phone (908)-953-7027
Cell (215)-353-6175
AMS Project Executive for AVAYA
Internet: EDZEBROW@US.IBM.COM
NOTES: Edward Zebrowski/Philadelphia/IBM

February 19th, 2003, 6:01 pm #2

Hi Ed!