FMX to AOD

FMX to AOD

Joined: January 13th, 2008, 4:04 am

January 13th, 2008, 4:07 am #1

I have a 1955 f-100 and a 351 windsor with an fmx. i already have the fmx up and operating. i was wondering how much trouble it would be to swap it over to aod. as far as driveline and bellhousing. then the shift linkage and passing gear and all of that stuff. i have very little knowledge and would appreciate all the help i could get. thanks
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: November 18th, 2004, 4:20 am

January 13th, 2008, 4:15 am #2

Throttle pressure control is going to be the great problem.

Getting the correct geometry is critical.

The output shafts are a different diameter as well.
The rest is common sense.
Quote
Like
Share

Gdog3225
Gdog3225

January 13th, 2008, 4:19 am #3

what u mean by that?? its a carb engine. how much longer is the tail shaft on the aod than the fmx?? will i have to have my driveline cut or can i make the difference up in the yoke??
Quote
Share

Joined: November 18th, 2004, 4:20 am

January 13th, 2008, 4:29 am #4


FMX and AOD control throttle pressure by different methods.

FMX uses engine vacuum and AOD uses linkage only.

The kd for the FMX can not be adapted to the AOD to control it.

There are several different lengths of FMX so without knowing what you have it is impossible to say if you will need a different length drive shaft.
As for the yokes they use different ujoints so yours will have to be cut to accept the alteration or get a different shaft.

Quote
Like
Share

Gdog3225
Gdog3225

January 13th, 2008, 4:34 am #5

so r u tellin me it will be virtually impossible or impossible without a lot of work??
Quote
Share

Joined: November 18th, 2004, 4:20 am

January 13th, 2008, 4:45 am #6

But it isn't a bolt in conversion.

If the throttle pressure isn't right on you will smoke the transmission within a few blocks.
Quote
Like
Share

Gdog3225
Gdog3225

January 13th, 2008, 4:51 am #7

how can u set the throttle pressure?? im sorry i sound like a complete idiot.
Quote
Share

Joined: November 18th, 2004, 4:20 am

January 13th, 2008, 5:01 am #8

It's better to ask now before you smoke one.


You need an entire carb from an AOD equiped vehicle.
Plus the linkage from it to the transmission.

Or you can use an aftermarket cable set up for this application.

Don't be afraid to ask questions.
Quote
Like
Share

Gdog3225
Gdog3225

January 13th, 2008, 5:05 am #9

well i got an edelbrock carb so could i get a linkage from lokar that would work?? as far as bell housing bolts they r the same right?? and the fmx is out of a 79 thunderbird. so that might tell u what size case it is.
Quote
Share

Joined: November 18th, 2004, 4:20 am

January 13th, 2008, 6:17 pm #10



The Lokar cable will work but it takes patience.

Housing bolts are a tad longer in an AOD.

The transmission length should be very close.
Quote
Like
Share