E4OD od one way clutch

E4OD od one way clutch

September 5th, 2011, 5:10 pm #1

Hello I recently rebuild my e4OD out of a 97 7.5L F250. When I took it for a ride and it shifted very well untill it tried to downshift out of overdrve. The truck seemed to be held back untill it downshifted into 3rd then it started to make a whining noise from the front of the transmssion so I drove it 2 miles home and pulled out the tranny. What I found was the od sprag come apart and the rollers locked up the inner and outer races also it burnt the od and coast clutch packs. Could I of installed the od sprag upside down or could of it just been faulty? Also is the od sprag the only cause to the burnt out clutch packs or is there any other factors that could of caused this? I am pretty new at this and dont want to miss anything. Please any info would help!

September 5th, 2011, 10:35 pm #2

Why was the trans rebuilt? Major problems or just freshening it up?

The OD sprag is kind-of a weak point on the E4OD.

Yes it can be installed "backwards" or "up-side down".

....but if the OD sprag is installed backwards the trans won't move fwd in the "OD" position. You would have to push the OD cancel button, or pull the lever down to 2 or 1 to get FWD motion.

Hopefully, if such was the case, you would have noticed the trans not moving FWD in OD...... and also noticed that you had to cancel OD or pull the lever down to get FWD motion.

The only time it would move forward in OD with the OD sprag installed backwards... is if someone did a modification to the valvebody to apply the coast clutch in all FWD ranges. (the coast clutch would/should still release when the trans shifted to OD at highway speed, in fact it HAS to release at that time).

It is very likely the piled-up sprag is the cause of the burnt OD and coast packs.

Now you need to determine why the sprag piled-up.

Did you flush the cooler?...they are known to get plugged.....