While I am on the subject........

While I am on the subject........

May 11th, 2004, 1:32 am #1

Of music, I would like to know if anyone out there has knowledge of percussion instruments. I have done many searches on the internet and maybe I am not very good at it, but I love percussion and would like to purchase some bongos etc. I went to a music store the other day looking for a percussion section. I found it and was like a speechless child. I asked the gentleman for information and did not receive much. I grew up with music and first learned the piano from my mother who taught herself by ear. I later took piano lessons and do believe that the piano is the root for learning most instruments. I am very musically inclined and just want to play around with beats. I have over 2000 CD's and I learn the piano portion to songs I love by repeating it on my CD player....then I write the notes.

Any help with info on percussion instruments (contacts, teachers, etc) would be greatly appreciated.

May 11th, 2004, 1:43 am #2

try pawn shops. They have lots of instruments, but NOT always at great prices. I found this out when shopping for a drum for my son.

May 11th, 2004, 1:45 am #3

I love drums also. When I was a yoot, I used to ask my mom and dad for drums. My dad wanted to buy them for me and my mom would say "Tony, it is a passing phase".

May 11th, 2004, 1:52 am #4

but played the guitar and a little piano--it's been years...

May 11th, 2004, 2:03 am #5

do you ever have the urge to "play" again?

I would guess that you were very focused on the instruments that you played.

May 11th, 2004, 2:17 am #6

When my son was younger, I picked up the old quitar, showed him a few things, and passed it on to him. He loved it and didn't allow me much time to use it again.