Flying Stations Add-On

A place to request new ships and other sea-going vessels to be built, or to showcase work.

Flying Stations Add-On

SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 22:59

21 Nov 2013, 20:33 #1

Guys and Girls,

I've been working on a little programme to make getting to the carrier less of a PITA.

In essence what it does is set the carrier of your choice off along a route selected from a Google Earth KML file and allow you to place your aircraft straight onto the flight deck so you can start from there rather than trying to find it. The ship will then carry on following that route in real time until you set it off on a new one, so if you load FSX/P3D a day later it'll be placed 600 odd miles further down route.

You can also turn the ship onto the flying course to get the wind down the deck, ask for a steer to mother if you're within radar range and get a top up of gas while you're parked on the deck. It'll also reset you to the flight deck after a crash.

In the Zip you'll find a number of files, unzip them to a separate folder of your choice. Once FSX/P3D is running just double click OEU.exe and a DOS window should open up, ignore that and switch to P3D/FSX and press ctrl+shift+f, this will bring up the first menu which should have a list of ships, these are taken from the various .ship files that come with the programme. Choose one of these and then you'll be asked to if you want to continue the old route or start a new one. If you start a new one you'll get a second list, drawn from the included Cruises.kml.

Once this is done the ship will be set up and starting following the route at its cruising speed. Bringing up the menu again should now give you the option of Positioning the Aircraft. Depending on how far away the ship is this will be more or less successful! However if the first attempt ends in a crash the second should work fine as the sim will have caught up with rendering the planet correctly.

You can now use the menu a third time to bring the ship to Flying Stations.

The .ship files are important as they tell the programme various things about the carrier, including how high the flight deck is, along with the name of the model to use and where it last was on its cruise. If you don't have the model required it should default to the Acceleration Nimitz class. The included files are for Javier's Nimitz, Sylvain's Charles de Gaulle and our Ark Royal and late war Victorious.

If you look in the files you'll also note it accepts entries for escort ships, this again use the title from the model's Sim.cfg and then take four figures, the min bearing and range from the carrier and the max bearing and range. This gives the escort a sector to manoeuvre in which makes for a more realistic look than the fixed positions of AI Carriers.

There is also an entry for Air Group, currently the only entry accepted here is for AAR, this places the chosen aircraft 50-100 miles ahead of the carrier at ~24000' flying a race track pattern.

At the moment it's a bit of a work in progress, e.g. you can't have more than about 8 .ship files or the menu won't list them all! But I'd be interested in feed back to see how it could be improved and expanded on, e.g. missions, radar vectors for recovery in bad weather, that sort of thing.

Any questions drop them below as I'm bound to have forgotten something!

P.S. If you want to save the faff of loading it up every time you load P3D/FSX you can add it to the EXE.xml file.
FlyingStations.zip (44.94 KiB)
FlyingStations.zip (44.94 KiB)
Reply
Like

SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 22:59

21 Nov 2013, 20:37 #2

Oh yeah, two more things.

You can add more routes to the Cruises.kml in Google Earth, again 8 is probably the upper limit until I sort out the menu issue.

Also if you open Monitor.kml it displays the current position of the carrier updated every 60 seconds or so.

Also also, the carrier's position gets saved every 30 seconds, if you kill it before then* the next time it loads it'll start at 0N 0W. I really need to sort that out.

*Either by closing the DOS window, or via the Add-ons menu in sim.
Reply
Like

Airtrooper
Captain
Joined: 06 Apr 2009, 12:11

22 Nov 2013, 20:35 #3

Sounds amazing Phil :D ... I'll download, give it a go and report back...

Andy


i7-4770K 8Mb OC @ 4.5 GHz, ASUS Z87-PRO, 16GB RAM,
GTX 1080ti 11Gb GPU, Oculus Rift CV1, Leap Motion, FlyInside, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro, Buttkicker Gamer
Reply
Like

DaveG
Officer Cadet
DaveG
Officer Cadet
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 15:03

23 Nov 2013, 17:57 #4

Cool tool :D

I'll have a play with this, thanks :)
Reply
Like

DaveG
Officer Cadet
DaveG
Officer Cadet
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 15:03

24 Nov 2013, 14:41 #5

Tried it out, but I can't get it to work properly. I'm using FSX + Acceleration.

Here's what happens.

Start a flight, in this case the default Cessna. When loaded, start the OEU.exe
Press ctrl+shft+f & pick Ark Royal.
Select New Deployment
Select EastLant

The Ark appears in the sim, but also a default Nimtz both at the same postion. A second Nimtz then starts moving, I assume following the track.



If I call up the menu again & select position aircaft, I'm positioned on the deck of the moving Nimtz, but several feet above.

Slew mode is on. The aircraft is locked in position & the carrier moves forward a few feet then jerks back again. This continues indefinitely.
If I take slew mode off, the aircraft tries to fly, but stays locked in position.
Only way out is to quit OEU.
Reply
Like

Airtrooper
Captain
Joined: 06 Apr 2009, 12:11

24 Nov 2013, 17:37 #6

Now that is an interesting hybrid carrier design!!! :lol:


i7-4770K 8Mb OC @ 4.5 GHz, ASUS Z87-PRO, 16GB RAM,
GTX 1080ti 11Gb GPU, Oculus Rift CV1, Leap Motion, FlyInside, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro, Buttkicker Gamer
Reply
Like

SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 22:59

24 Nov 2013, 19:05 #7

Ahhh...

I now realise the Ark Royal.ship file I sent out has three escorts included, which I haven't released yet. So instead you're getting the default carrier, which makes sense if you haven't got the carrier listed but then I reused the code for the escorts and didn't change it to something else...

See what happens if you use the attached file in place of the Ark Royal.ship that was in the original download.

If you find you're a few feet above the deck press F1 to slew down onto it, once the aircraft is sat on the deck for a few seconds the slew should come off. This shouldn't happen any more, but if the carrier is some way away from the aircraft FSX seems to need a few seconds to sort out where sea level actually is...

[The extension ship has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Reply
Like

DaveG
Officer Cadet
DaveG
Officer Cadet
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 15:03

24 Nov 2013, 20:29 #8

Hi Skippy,

the new file gets rid of the duplicate Nimitzes, but I've still got a problem with the height.
Tried to slew down, but the aircraft stays locked about 18ft off the deck. I tried lowering the deck height in the .ship file, but it didn't seem to make much difference. Some how I did manage to get it on the deck a couple of times and the slew came off, then I was able to manoeuvre on the deck and launch with the cats.
Reply
Like

SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
SkippyBing
Rear Admiral
Joined: 19 Nov 2008, 22:59

24 Nov 2013, 22:28 #9

Dave, which aircraft is that with? It should get the static CG height from FSX and then add that to the flight deck height in the ship file. It works with most things I've tested but as the CG height is set in the aircraft.cfg it isn't necessarily right!
Reply
Like

DaveG
Officer Cadet
DaveG
Officer Cadet
Joined: 22 Dec 2011, 15:03

25 Nov 2013, 10:11 #10

I started off with the FlyingStations Bucc S.1, and also tried Dino's F14. Both did the same.

I'll be getting P3dv2 tonight, so I'll give it a try with that once it's up and running.
Reply
Like