You're being watched !

You're being watched !

09 Feb 2007, 23:24 #1

Has this happened to anyone else?

People around me, are watching me. Family , friends , co workers .
A guy I work with has watched my progress the past 39 days. We have worked together 22 yrs. He knows what a Steady smoker ( Addict ) I have been. He had asked what I was doing to quit. The patch? No he watched me go through those yrs. ago.
Gum ?
No He used to watch me spit out a piece so I could have a smoke.
Nicotine inhalers ? No. He got a kick out watching me use those too.
I told him I found this web site. I started reading, It made more sense, and had more info. than anything I had ever found. So... He tells me the other day, He threw away 200.00 worth of cigars and four cans of chew. He had been reading Joel's book!
Now I have a family member doing the same, On his own !
I had told them both at different times, " This is what I found , it works for me, as you know, I'm new at it . " I'm not your counsler or quit buddy. I don't have, and wouldn't
pretend to have the answers."
But doggone it , I'm leading by example, and never knew it ! Interesting though, I don't want this " honor ". I'm too busy keeping my head down, and embracing my own quit . Do I sound too selfish?
Dave

09 Feb 2007, 23:55 #2

No Dave, you are not responsible.....

Your quit comes first.

But you are an "existence proof", as we say in mathmatics. Your very existence shows that it can be done. You are a living, walking, talking refutation of the belief that "smokers can't quit". That is something every smoker is desperate to believe, since it means that they have no choice but to continue smoking.

And you put the lie to it... even if you do not open your mouth.

:-)

BillW 5 + epsilon

10 Feb 2007, 02:13 #3

Dave,

I agree with Bill's assessment, you are not their counsellor. Your quit is the most important. Nurture that until you can comfortably stand on your own two legs.