The One Puff Files

Retraining the conscious mind
CandidCandiSilver

08 Nov 2003, 23:24 #41

Bob,
Thank's for bringing this thread back up ~ just the reminder I need to hold tight to this quit ~ I know my life depends on it. I can't for the life of me understand why I went back to smoking on more than one occasion. I've been quitting for 25 years! Let go of a 2.5 year quit in '80, an 8 year quit in '92, and another 2 year quit in '99. These were not "slips" ~ they were defiant "I'm going to smoke now" relapses.

Just from hanging around this group for a few weeks, I know that I can Never Take Another Puff and I'm beginning to wonder why I would ever want to. For this junkie, that is great progress!

Thanks for all you share on these boards . . . . . back to reading the thread . . . . . Image
God Bless,
Candi - Free and Healing for Sixteen Days, 11 Hours and 43 Minutes, while extending my life expectancy 1 Day and 3 Hours, by avoiding the use of 330 nicotine delivery devices that would have cost me $42.90.

Gormo Gold

09 Nov 2003, 00:18 #42

"In July of this year I turned Gold. 12 months of Freedom. Everything I was told here came true. No longer thinking about smoking, total comfort and vastly improved health. I threw it away and relapsed. One other thing is also true. You're one puff away from 2 packs a day. I very quickly returned to my old nicotine consumption level. Just like that." As one of the individuals quoted in OBob's original, "One Puff Files" I have always been frightened by this thread. Not because it speaks about relapse, but because it reminds me of the blazing with which a relapse can occur.

One moment, Quit for 14 months, a split second later an actively feeding addict.