Some new findings on Nicotine Addiction

Maria (Green)

09 Dec 2002, 21:47 #31

Hi Joel, Thanks for that useful info. I came here this morning because I have been feeling so low the last couple of days (I'm on day 14 nicotine free). I was telling someone the other day that I don't know how to be happy without my nicotine. It's as though I forgot HOW to be happy. After reading the Trib article, I can see why I said that. I have had some positive experiences since I quit - but my lows seems so much lower now that I'm not using that nasty drug. The article helped me to keep things in perspective, and realize that THIS IS ONLY TEMPORARY! I'll continue taking it one day at a time, and remember cigarettes for what they are - a highly addictive drug delivery system! Thanks again!

Joel

09 Dec 2002, 21:57 #32

Here Marie, be sure to read this one too:
Emotional Loss Experienced from Quitting Smoking
Last edited by Joel on 10 Jul 2009, 16:46, edited 1 time in total.

GrumpyOMrsS (Gold)

23 Dec 2002, 12:10 #33

Imagefor Jill.....not sure if this is the one you wanted, but there are links to other threads about dopomine levels in here.

Linda

ladygrace

03 Feb 2003, 23:01 #34

Wow, Joel, I knew I was addicted, but never realized how powerful a drug nicotine is. Thanks for sharing this article. It just reinforces why I never want to take another puff, who wants to go through the pain of withdrawal ever again!

I also think this article points out some other things that you've taught us. For instance, how other problems "suddenly" appear when we quit smoking. Most have been covered up with all that dopamine all the years we smoked. I'm not a big proponent of main stream medicine, but I must say that there are plenty of medications and other therepies available now to help overcome the "new" issues once the nicotine is out of the system.

As always, thank you for the education!

ComicForces GOLD

07 Mar 2003, 22:42 #35