Minimizing the Weight Gained

Physical healing of the body and mind
CaseyB (Silver )

05 Jun 2002, 10:04 #21

Hello!

I'm still a newbie here, but there's a couple of things that I know regardless of where you are in your quit as far as weight gain...
Exercise -- even if it's light exercise!
and drink lots of water!

Even if you're not used to exercising, start off with walks around your block and increase the time or distance every day. It not only helps maintain your weight (and eventually lose some!), but it also curbs cravings and makes you a happier person (its just sometimes hard to realize that part until you're finished)Image! Not to mention... it feels good to get more oxygen in your new, healing lungs!

As for water, there's nothing wrong with drinking water! It can actually reduce water retention. So, cut down on sugary drinks and get your 8, 8oz glasses a day - or more!

Casey
I have chosen not to smoke for 5 Days and 23 Hours !!! Cigarettes not smoked: 89. Money saved: $11.17. I have rescued 14 Hrs and 53 Mins of my life!

Suekickbutt (GOLD)

17 Jun 2002, 15:02 #22

I'm so relieved about the water retention/bloating explanation. Is there a physiological answer to this phenomenon? anyone?

Your quit sis

Sue

I have chosen not to smoke for 3 Weeks 6 Days 5 Hours 55 Minutes 29 Seconds. Cigarettes not smoked: 817. Money saved: A$249.31.

Joel

17 Jun 2002, 18:57 #23

Hello Sue: