" I'm different, I'll never be comfortable without nicotine "

SueB911

16 Oct 2004, 12:51 #31

Just wanted to bring this very encouraging post to the top tonight. Have a great nicotine-free weekend, all.

ShellyBGold

20 Oct 2004, 00:54 #32

So very timely! Thanks for bring this up, Sue.
I am a newbie (only 6 and a half days into my quit.) I'm excited about it. Proud of it. Enthusiastic about it. Never letting myself forget that this is an "Active" quit. The NTAP is so simple- but the crazy emotions and thoughts that I can't even believe are making their way into my head--- not-quite-as-simple!
I keep telling my sister (we quit at the same time) what I hear from you all- just that it will get easier.
She's getting nervous about the "cues"... "That's when we have our best conversations- is over smokes & after dinner drinks. What are we going to do?" And I tell her that we'll just find other cues! When the coffee comes- or when the server removes the dinner plates- we just have to change our M.O. It's great to have a team. I appreciate you guys (and girls) and I know my sister does, too! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

~ Shell

Parker GOLD

11 Nov 2004, 08:36 #33

Jeanne wrote the following to someone who posted wondering when they would be comfortable. It is a question that is frequently asked. I wanted to capture Jeanne's reply here as it was so well crafted.

ImageParker - 29 months
I'll be happy to tell you when my deep sense of inner quiet and calmness was achieved, but first you have to ask yourself why you want to know.