Being Honest About Our Addiction

Being Honest About Our Addiction

OBob Gold

01 Nov 2002, 03:06 #1

The following was part of a new post from many months ago. It has always stood out to me as one of the most honest portrayals of what nicotine addiction really is... Image

I'm 51 years old and I had been smoking for 37 years. I started in high school at the age 14. My friends smoked and I had to smoke because all my friends were smoking and it was the cool thing to do then. I smoked even though I would throw up at even the smell of a cigarette, but I had to keep going. After all I had a reputation to save and to defend. NOW IT'S MY LIFE I HAVE TO SAVE AND DEFEND !!!!!!!!!!!!!

It did not take very long for my body to accept the smoke with pleasure. My body was welcoming the smoke so much that I could smoke even more until about 3-5 years down the road that I was up to a total of smoking approximately 2-3 packs of cigarettes a day.

Well, 37 years have passed and during this time I have lost both of my parents to emphysema, both in their early 50's (both smokers). My brother just turned 50 years old and has had emphysema for the past 6 years. He is on oxygen 24 hours a day and has been on a life support system 3 times in the past 6 months (he's still smoking). When I was a child I lost my grandfather to Buerger's Disease (smoker). He had one leg amputated and his twin brother had both legs amputated from the same disease (both smokers). Two other grandparents passed away from cancer (both smokers).
ALL SMOKING RELATED DISEASES !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Even after losing both parents I continued to smoke. O, I would try to quit, but after awhile I was right back to smoking full force. It just didn't seem like I would ever give them up. I remember as both of my parents were in their last days of life, they would say to me,
IF I COULD HAVE ONLY QUIT SMOKING !!! IF I COULD OF ONLY GIVEN UP THOSE CIGARETTES!!!