Asthma

CKAgger Gold.ffn
CKAgger Gold.ffn

July 23rd, 2003, 10:52 pm #1

About two months after I quit the first time I had some serious asthma attacks following physical exhaustion - one time, e.g., when running very fast to catch a bus (don't have a car and never wanted one :-)).

Now, one of my friends as well as one of my colleagues have both told me that they were treated for asthma shortly after their quits - as in my case, for both of them it was the only time they had ever been in treatment for asthma.

I got an inhalator at the time, and using the inhalator all attacks were rendered safe - the asthma disappeared completely after a few months.

Now, the question is: Does this (very anecdotical) experience indicate that quitting entails a limited risk of acquiring a transient asthma - and if so, with what prevalence? 10-20%, e.g.? It could be understood in terms of "frailness" of regenerating lung tissue - but that is pure speculation, as I am not a medical doctor :-).
On the other hand, non-chronic asthma is an eventuality which quitters might want to be prepared to, if the anecdotical connection I allude to is valid. Does anybody know this?

regards
Carsten
- quit for 5 Days, 15 hours and 54 minutes (5 days). I have saved kr 288,78 by not smoking 169 cigarettes. I have saved 14 hours and 5 minutes of my life.

ChristinenSam
ChristinenSam

July 23rd, 2003, 11:01 pm #2

Hi Carsten.

If I understand what you are asking correctly, then here is my answer.

Cigarettes contain all kinds of chemicals including bronchiodilaters that help keep the bronchioles in your lungs open. So perhaps your asthma attack could be due to the fact that you were sort of on an inhaler already by puffing a smoke, and by quitting your lungs weren't used to going off the bronchiodilater cold turkey.

I can't find the links that have that information about the dilaters in the cigarette smoke but I'm sure another freedom member will find it and post it for you to read.