A helping hand and some advice please

annies1
annies1

January 12th, 2007, 5:34 pm #1

I rarely suffer from PMT/PMS but yesterday and again today it is so bad I am really struggling with not smoking!! Is it like this because of the no smoking? has anyone else experienced thi?

I am on my thirteenth day and feel that after the initial 72hours these are the worst days I have experienced - in fact because I have PMT, at the moment they feel like the worst days!!

It may have something to do with its nearly the 1st anniversary of my mums death and it was her birthday on Wednesday. I just feel so vunerable and down.

Thank you

sue468
sue468

January 12th, 2007, 6:44 pm #2

Hi Annie,

I'm so sorry about the loss of your mother...this has to be a really difficult time for you at the one year anniversary.

I'm new at this too, going into my third week and I have been struggling a little more lately, too. But I don't think it's your PMT/S or your mother's anniversary necessarily causing the cravings but the fact that you (and I and everyone else who recently quit) are newly going through these experiences without using our addiction as a crutch. So it's an adjustment period. We aren't used to dealing with stress and life's difficulties without smoking...

I know there are a lot of helpful articles on here, but I read this one the other night and it made a ton of sense...

Recognizing needs

Maybe reading some of the threads in the CRAVE section of the message boards would help, too.

But just remember, taking a puff now means taking them ALL and will it help you with PMT/S or with the loss of your mother?

Sue

I have been quit for 2 Weeks, 2 Days, 5 hours, 42 minutes and 40 seconds (16 days). I have saved $81.18 by not smoking 324 cigarettes. I have saved 1 Day and 3 hours of my life. My Quit Date: 12/27/2006 12:00 AM

sue468
sue468

January 12th, 2007, 6:52 pm #3

Hi Annie,