Year End Inventory

Year End Inventory

December 29th, 2006, 9:23 pm #1

2006 is almost over.

What golfing goals have you met this year? What golfing goals were not met? What are your golfing goals for 2007?

For me, 2006 became a big medical challenge to the extent that my golf goal was to just play some kind of golf sometime before the end of the year. Fortunately, November and December were very kind to me and I exceeded my golf playing expectations by a wide margin.

In the golf theory arena I was hoping to pull together in a practical way some of the ideas I have been toying with for several years. But I didn't have much energy until September. Hopefully I'll get more done in 2007.

Happy New Year to all!

Golfingly yours,
Tom

December 30th, 2006, 5:17 am #2

Tom, Congratulations on exceeding your goals for 2006. You've obviously overcome huge obstacles to get there. And, you've become a stalwart on our little forum. Your posts are always scintillating and penetrating. Jim

December 30th, 2006, 5:57 am #3

Jim,

You are very kind to continue to put up with me on this forum since I do not use Mindy's technique. I would try it again if I was able but my legs are not up to the task. What I'm really interested in is how straight Mindy hit the ball. In my mind I already think I have solved the solid contact aspect of his swing and where he gets his power. But I can't figure out why he was able to hit it so straight. Apparently Moe Norman could also hit it dead straight and that keeps me involved with the SA forum. I'm hoping someone will come up with the answer.

Straight hitting is definitely a rare bird even at the highest levels of the game. Byron Nelson may have been as straight as anyone who ever played and he used a conventional swing. Might there be a common denominator for straight golf shots other than the obvious advice to hit the ball with a square face while the club is traveling toward the target?