Salvia 'Blue Ensign' seed?

Salvia 'Blue Ensign' seed?

August 3rd, 2017, 11:01 pm #1

I've been growing salvia 'blue ensign' for many years. As far as I knew, this plant produces no seed. I've never seen any seed in the calyxes and I've never seen any volunteers... until now, that is. This spring I noticed an apparent blue ensign shoot growing about 18 inches away from the main plant, which was overwintered in the ground for the first time this past winter. I just assumed it was growing from a long runner. It continued to grow with the rest of the plant and I haven't paid much attention to it. This morning, however, while looking out my bedroom window, which is right next to the plant, I noticed an odd black bloom spike among the typical green blue ensign spikes. It pretty quickly hit me that that one shoot is not growing from a runner, but from a seed that dropped from a previous year's plant. I'm guessing the flower color will be the same deep blue as blue ensign, but I won't know for another few days. Has anyone else found blue ensign volunteers, or even any seed? Steve?
Dan
East-central Iowa
Zone 5a

August 4th, 2017, 12:21 am #2

You must be anxious to see what you have. I would be. As to your question most guaranitica set seed, at least the types I've tried. But I have never had a garden volunteer.
Southern New Jersey

August 4th, 2017, 2:02 am #3