March 15th, 2016, 1:48 pm #16

I am thinking planting day will be Saturday April 30 with a weather date of May 1. Do any of the usual suspects think that day will work for you. By that date I hope to have all the prep work done so that only planting will need to be done. The long-term forecast indicates we will have a rather warm March and an average April. The last time the weather was like that the salvia were already in full bloom when we did our work. Wouldn't that be nice?
Living in an urban location, I have zero experience dealing with deer, fortunately. I would imagine deer will enjoy everything on a fig tree. Perhaps a cattle panel around it would help.
-Adrienne
(Staten Island, NY Zone ~7)

March 15th, 2016, 5:27 pm #17

I am thinking planting day will be Saturday April 30 with a weather date of May 1. Do any of the usual suspects think that day will work for you. By that date I hope to have all the prep work done so that only planting will need to be done. The long-term forecast indicates we will have a rather warm March and an average April. The last time the weather was like that the salvia were already in full bloom when we did our work. Wouldn't that be nice?
Thanks for the way in advance heads-up! Now I can reserve that day in my work schedule. Or, should I reserve May 1? Either way works, just the sooner I know the better

March 15th, 2016, 6:14 pm #18

That is great Lisa. If I recall correctly you were big help the first year and then you went to nursing school. Let's say Saturday unless you have some conflict. It is hard to believe it has been 10 years.
Southern New Jersey

March 18th, 2016, 2:04 pm #19